Cape Crystal Brands Blog
Agar-agar is a Malaysian name with a Japanese origin. Chinese settlers in the east Indies introduced the use of Japanese agar as a food to the locals. To make the product more inviting to the population they called it “agaragar” which is a name used by the Malayans to indicate certain seaweeds and the jellies that were made from them.
Amazing Agar Agar the Vegan Gelatin Substitute
One of our most popular ingredients is agar agar. This product is made with one hundred percent naturally growing seaweed. It is vegan, non-GMO, allergen-free, gluten-free, and Kosher certified. It has an outstanding gel strength compared to most other brands offered, at 900 gm/cm2.
Eаѕу Vеgаn Chосоlаtе Pаnnа Cоttа Recipe
Panna cotta is a classic Italian dessert which is dairy thickened pudding. Typically it is thickened with gelatin, but to make a vegan version we use agar agar which is a Kosher plant based thickener. The name "panna cotta" translated from the Italian means cooked cream. The original version of this famous desert was thickened, of all things, using gelatin derived from fish bones. But there are no bones about it here - this tasty recipe is all vegan as well as being a heavenly chocolate, too.